News Post

Eight Saints Earn All State Honors
Eight Saints Earn All State Honors

December 10, 2016 (Scottsdale, AZ) – The Notre Dame Prep Saints 2016 5A NE Region championship season officially wrapped up with its team awards banquet last week and 8 members of the football team received 5A All-State honors , including 2 players placed in the 1st & 2nd Team slots. The Saints were represented on both sides of the ball and on special teams for All-State recognition.

Junior LS Slater Zellers led the ALL-State selections by earning 1st Team honors on defense/special teams. For Zellers, the top rated LS in the nation for the 2018 class, this was his 2nd All-State election as he was on the 1st team in Division III last season. Senior OL Mike Girardin was selected to the 2nd Team offense, capping off a great senior season that included being named the Region Offensive Player of the Year. Six other Saints earned Honorable Mention recognition on the All-State. Four were represented on defense, led by JR LB Vince Elrod, who led the Region in tackles and finished 5th in all of 5A. Elrod was joined by fellow Juniors DE Kyle White, DB Jordan Stengel and LB Joey Jaquint. Two Saints selected on offense were Senior RB Drew Jackse and Junior RB/KR Cole Fisher.

Several players were also recognized at the team banquet, receiving awards voted on by team members and coaches. 12 seniors officially ended their high school careers and passed the torch on to the returning players. Versatile Soph RB Jake Smith earned the Get After It Award for contributions at rushing, receiving and special teams return yards. Senior QB Cameron Yowell received the Play Like A Champion Award for leadership and dependability. Defensive MVP Honors went to Junior LB Vince Elrod, who led the team in tackles and had a key INT TD return in the Region-clinching win over Arcadia. Juniors DB Ricky Manning and DE Kyle White were recognized as the Top Defensive Back and Defensive Lineman respectively. Offensive MVP Honors went to Senior OL Mike Girardin for leading an O-line that paved the way for the 3rd best rushing yards in the season (2,653 yds). Senior RB Drew Jackse and Junior Cole Fisher shared the Top Running Back Award and Junior WRs Blake Storey and Jordan Stengel did the same with the Top Receiver Award. Senior OL Andrew Nadolski earned the Top Offensive Lineman Award. Also, seven school records set by the 2016 NDP Saints were recognized, including two season records and five single game records. Congratulations to all the players, coaches and parents on a fantastic season!


1st Team

Defense/Special Teams: LS Slater Zellers

2nd Team

Offense: OL Mike Girardin

Honorable Mention

Offense: RB Cole Fisher, RB Drew Jackse

Defense: LB Vince Elrod, LB/DB Joey Jaquint, DE Kyle White, DB Jordan Stengel


Get After It Award: RB Jake Smith
Play Like A Champion Leadership Award: QB Cameron Yowell
Top Running Back Award: RB Cole Fisher, RB Drew Jackse
Top Receiver Award: WR Blake Storey, WR Jordan Stengel
Top Offensive Lineman: OL Andrew Nadolski
Top Defensive Lineman: DE Kyle White
Top Defensive Back: DB Ricky Manning
Defensive MVP: LB Vince Elrod
Offensive MVP: OL Mike Girardin


Rushing Yards Per Game/Season: 265.3
100+yd Rushing games in a Season: 8
Points in Single Game: 76 vs Paradise Valley
TDs in a Single Game: 11 vs Paradise Valley
Rush Attempts in a Single Game: 53 vs Desert Mountain
Rushing Yards in a Single Game: 397
Total Yards in a Single Game: 565 vs Desert Mountain