News Post


The Notre Dame Prep Saints 2016 5A NE Region championship season continued to reap benefits as 23 members of the football team received AIA All-Region honors over Thanksgiving week, including 8 players receiving 1st Team honors. The Saints were represented well on both sides of the ball and on special teams. Senior offensive lineman Mike Girardin led the 1st team offense selections and was also named the Region's Offensive Player of the Year, for contributing to the school's record-high 2,653 rushing yards amassed this season. Fellow senior offensive lineman Andrew Nadolski and junior running back Cole Fisher joined Girardin on the 1st Team All-Region offense. The defense saw four Saints earn 1st Team recognition, led by junior linebacker Vince Elrod, who led the region in tackles and finished 5th in all of 5A. Junior defensive back Ricky Manning (region co-leader in interceptions), region sack leader, junior defensive end Kyle White and junior defensive tackle Kyle Gordon rounded out the 1st Team defense for NDP. Senior punter/kicker Clay Donaghey received 1st Team selections on special teams and was named Region's top punter.

The Saints filled up the 2nd Team spots on offense with senior quarterback Cameron Yowell (the Region's only player to finish in the Top 10 in both passing and rushing yards), Running backs senior Drew Jackse and sophomore Jake Smith; wide receivers juniors Blake Storey and Jordan Stengal, and OL Garrett Zimmerman and Braeden Looper. 2nd Team defensive selections started with junior defensive backs Joey Jaquint and Justin Maschek, junior defensive lineman Victor Annoreno, and senior linebacker Jarod Aber. Three more Saints seniors received Honorable Mention recognition including, Collin Taylor, Luke Forte and Keagan Bafus. Tre Smith was named All-Region Scholar. Expect to see more NDP Saints receiving recognition in the coming weeks, when All-State and All-Academic teams are announced by multiple media outlets, scouting sites and the AIA.


1st Team

Offense: OL Mike Girardin (Off POY), OL Andrew Nadolski, RB Cole Fisher

Defense: LB Vince Elrod, DB Ricky Manning, DE Kyle White, DT Kyle Gordon

Clay Donaghey – Punter

2nd Team

Offense: QB Cameron Yowell, RB Drew Jackse, RB Jake Smith, WR Blake Storey, WR Jordan Stengel, OL Garrett Zimmerman, OL Braeden Looper

Defense: DT Victor Annoreno, LB Jarod Aber, DB/LB Joey Jaquint, DB Justin Maschek

Honorable Mention

DE Collin Taylor, OL Luke Forte and Keagan Bafus & All Region Scholar Athlete Tre Smith.

-Contributing writer: Rob Yowell